loader image
Skip links

Presentation of the Region Laayôune Sakia El Hamra

Presentation of the RegionLaayôune Sakia El Hamra


The Laâyoune Sakia El Hamra Region is part of the Southern Regions and also one of the twelve Regions of the Kingdom established by decree n°2.15.10 of February 20, 2015. The region administratively encompasses four provinces: Boujdour, Es-Smara, Laâyoune, and Tarfaya, 20 municipalities including 5 urban and 15 rural ones. The regional capital is the province of Laâyoune. Representing 19.7% of the national territory, Laâyoune Sakia El Hamra Region is bordered to the North by Guelmim-Oued Noun region, to the South by Dakhla-
Oued Eddahab region, to the East by the Islamic Republic of Mauritania, and to the West by the Atlantic Ocean.

367 758


99 %

Electricity network coverage

+96 %

Access to clean water

Laâyoune-Sakia El Hamra Region

140 018 Km²

Region area

575 km



Population growth rate

Green MacroEconomic Indicators

Evolution of GDP growth (source HCP)
Evolution of the Sectoral Decomposition of GDP (source HCP)